Bangladesh : The Administration

The elected political leaders govern Bangladesh with the aid of a permanent bureaucracy. The ministers remain at the helm of ministries or divisions which are manned by civil servants recruited by the Public Service Commission. The ministries perform regulatory policy-making functions while the numerous subordinate offices execute Government policies and decisions at the field level. With the democratization of polity and a popularly elected government in office, the administration is now striving to be accountable and transparent.

Bangladesh currently has eight different administrative divisions, Dhaka (the capital), Chattogram, Rajshahi, Khulna, Barisal, Sylhet, Mymensingh and Rangpur. On the other hand, there are two more proposed divisions and they are Comilla and Faridpur. Other than this, currently there are 64 districts and 490 sub-districts. There are 490 thanas each divided into unions, mouzas and villages at the lowest level.

Copyright ©